Alexa Routine

Post Reply
jhussain7262
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 11, 2020 8:03 pm

Alexa Routine

Post by jhussain7262 »

Hello!

I have setup my media on pi and it works very good.
I have two songs in my music folder.
I have setup a routine in Alexa to play the music at certain time of the day and it works.
What I want to is to use routine in Alexa to play a selected song at certain time,
say at morning song one and in the evening song to.

I do not see this section when I setup the Alexa routine. Mymedia plays both songs.
This will be good one to select songs at different times with Alexa Routine.


Please help.

Thanks.
bizmodeller
Posts: 385
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 8:40 pm

Re: Alexa Routine

Post by bizmodeller »

We're working on adding functionality that will let you choose which playlist is played when you open the My Media skill by default. At the moment it plays all tracks; but we'll add an option where you can choose a sepcific playlist instead. This will improve the experience with Alexa Routines as the Route will open the skill and play the playlist you chose.

Does this work for you?
bakerratface
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 16, 2020 9:46 am

Re: Alexa Routine

Post by bakerratface »

I think that's a very good idea. would it be possible to play different music depending on which device makes requests or which Routine is run?
bizmodeller
Posts: 385
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 8:40 pm

Re: Alexa Routine

Post by bizmodeller »

Don't think we would get any data from the routine itself. However we would get a device id, so it could be made device specific in the user experience doesn't get too clumsy ....
jhussain7262
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 11, 2020 8:03 pm

Re: Alexa Routine

Post by jhussain7262 »

bizmodeller wrote:
Tue May 12, 2020 7:14 am
We're working on adding functionality that will let you choose which playlist is played when you open the My Media skill by default. At the moment it plays all tracks; but we'll add an option where you can choose a sepcific playlist instead. This will improve the experience with Alexa Routines as the Route will open the skill and play the playlist you chose.

Does this work for you?

Thanks. That is what I am looking after.

Now the question is when all this will happen? I mean when this new feature will be available.

Thanks.
amoyer3677
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 7:59 pm

Re: Alexa Routine

Post by amoyer3677 »

I am interested in the same functionality.

When do you think we can get a "default" playlist when My Media opens?
Post Reply